Giving Credit Where Credit is Due

To date, I have written many things about love and God and how the two ideas intertwine. Two weeks ago, I wrote about “How to Love a Deity.” In that article, I discussed that the first way to love a deity is to accept the love that He showers on you. In other word, it is to let God love you and let Him take care of your sin by giving your life to Him. I hope that you have made the choice to make Jesus your Lord. If you haven’t, then give me a buzz, and I’d love to talk with you more about it.

To love a deity, you cannot simply stop once you have decided to let Him love you. There has to be more to it than that. Will He love you less if you don’t do what I am about to write? No! But the apostle, Paul, was pretty clear in Romans 6 that we are not supposed to do just anything since we’ve been saved. We are to put away our old, sinful selves.

When I was a teenager, I remember a job that my mother had. She was the secretary for a public relations director for a school system. She was really good at her job, and because she was good, the school did well at fund raising and gained credibility in the eyes of the community. The P.R. guy she worked for was a good man, but when the rubber met the road, my mom was doing 95% of the work in the office. He was usually off doing something else while my mom got the work done in the office and talked on the phone to celebrities to arrange for fundraisers and contacted influential officials to get her job done. This all went well for a while, but once she noticed that she was doing all the work, and no one was giving her any of the credit, she got pretty disgruntled. She still did her job to the best of her ability, and her boss still took all the credit without giving her any, but inside this really ate away at her.

Have you ever felt that way? Maybe you were due some credit that never came. Maybe you felt like no one ever gave you a second thought, or people didn’t think you were good enough.

Have you ever wondered if that’s how God feels?

We live our lives day by day and breathe and eat and walk and work and talk and do all the other normal everyday things that humans do, yet most days we don’t take the time to give credit where credit is due. God created everything. According to Acts 17, He gives you “life and breath and everything else.” So do you give credit where credit is due?

If someone were to ask me the purpose for humans on this earth, I would answer them, “To glorify our Creator in everything we do.” That’s how we love our Deity.

To give glory to God can happen in many ways. We can simply notice all the little magnificent things that God does like the sunrise this morning or the bird that is singing a hymn to its creator outside your window as you eat your lunch. These are things that we take for granted every day, but God created them for us nonetheless. In fact, God loves you so much that He created all this for you! In the process, He wants us to give Him credit for His creation. Maybe that’s why the idea of evolution is so repulsive to many Christians – because it takes the credit due God for this magnificent earth and all its inhabitants and gives it to chance.

Another way to give glory to God is to worship Him. We seem to have many ideas of worship. When I am standing in a clear-water stream in the hills of Arkansas or California, I an basking in the delight of my Creator, and I am worshiping Him even though I may make no sound other than the occasional squeal of joy when I hook a nice fish. Some people seem to think that worship only happens when we gather with other Christians on Sunday morning at the local church building. This kind of worship is formal and is usually done through singing. Hebrews 10:25 says, “ Let us not give up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing, but let us encourage one another—and all the more as you see the Day approaching.(NIV)” The Hebrew writer is saying that we need to assemble with the other Christians, but worship is not limited to just this.

If we are to love God, I think we need a broader view of worship to Him.

Paul says, in Romans 12:1, “And so, dear brothers and sisters, I plead with you to give your bodies to God because of all he has done for you. Let them be a living and holy sacrifice—the kind he will find acceptable. This is truly the way to worship him.(NLT)”

According to Paul, the way to worship God – to show Him our love for Him is a continual offering of our lives to Him. This is not just a once-a-week thing. This is a 24/7 thing. This is us continually offering our hearts and lives to God to give Him credit as our Creator by obeying the two laws: Love God and Love your neighbor. Worship is one of the ways we love our Deity.

I hope you have a church family with which to worship on Sundays. If you don’t, I’d like to personally invite you to the Nichols St. church of Christ here in Bay City. But even when you aren’t in the church building, love God with everything you have and everything you are – this is the only reasonable way to give credit where credit is due – to love a Deity.

About Johnathan Dobbs

I'm a Christian first. I'm a husband and father second. Then I am an avid outdoorsman (hiking, camping, climbing, canoeing, fishing, etc...). Right now, I have a passion for climbing and card tricks. I am the minister for the Aztec church of Christ in Aztec, NM. I look forward to meeting new people and hearing from all. View all posts by Johnathan Dobbs

Leave a Reply

