Twinkle, Twinlkle, little Star of Bethlehem…

Teach your childrenReally quickly, I’d like to have you do an experiment.  I would like you to hum three songs in a row:  Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star; Baa, Baa Black Sheep; and The ABC song (not the one that the “Super Why” kids sing – the old version).

Did you notice something?  They all have the same tune!  I spent many years of my life singing these three songs, and never noticed that until singing them one after another in the car during a long trip.  It was something I just had not looked for, but now that I’ve seen it, I can’t help but notice.

There is a book I highly recommend by Edwin Abbot called “Flatland”.  In it, a two dimensional shape is visited by a three dimensional sphere.  When this sphere tries to explain itself to the triangle in two-dimensional terms, the triangle reasons that this is a circle.  Only after being taken out of two-dimensional land (Flatland) does the triangle realize the true nature of the sphere.  Only then does he see all the other Flatlanders for what they really are.

After having this revelation, the triangle returns to Flatland with a new message to be told.  He cannot hold it in.  Because others cannot understand it given their limited vernacular, he is cast into prison so as to not create a stir among the people.

Sometimes I feel like we are this way with God.  We pray for things, then we are surprised when He answers the prayers we pray.  We call ourselves Christians, yet we are quick to tell someone “good luck”.  Do we believe in God or not?  Do we believe that He is alive and active in our lives?  Do we act like that?

I have a bracelet on my arm right now that says “watch for God”.  That’s what I intend to do.  If you ask me about my last year, I can give you time after time that I’ve seen God work in magnificent ways in my life and the lives of others.  Do you see Him in your life?

I work with teenagers all the time, and when they are asked what God is doing in their life, or what has God done in their life, they look at me with blank faces as if I had just asked them a Calculus question.  Do they come upon that response themselves, or are we modeling that for them?

At the end of Matthew, Jesus said He will be with us always.  In Hebrews 13, the writer quotes the prophet through whom God said “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you.”  Then he goes on to write that if God won’t leave us, then we shouldn’t be afraid of anyone.

Are you looking for God’s work in your life?  I’ll let you in on a not-so-little secret…He IS working in your life.

When you see God working, tell others – especially get in the habit of talking about this in front of and with your children.  One of the greatest famines today is our lack of sight in what God is doing in our lives.

And that is just where the Enemy wants us…

So is God working in your life?  YES!!!  Watch for God…He’ll show you amazing things.  Then rejoice daily in knowing that you are never alone, and tell others about this wonderful God who never leaves us nor forsakes us.

I’m praying for you.  If there’s anything that you’d like for me to pray for specifically, please let me know at jddobbs@verizon.net.

God bless you, and Watch for God!!!

About Johnathan Dobbs

I'm a Christian first. I'm a husband and father second. Then I am an avid outdoorsman (hiking, camping, climbing, canoeing, fishing, etc...). Right now, I have a passion for climbing and card tricks. I am the minister for the Aztec church of Christ in Aztec, NM. I look forward to meeting new people and hearing from all. View all posts by Johnathan Dobbs

Leave a Reply

