When the Thought Doesn’t Always Count

The other day I was driving to take some kids to school. I was driving the exact speed limit. I also had a bloody nose from allergies, so I didn’t see the school zone sign. I was doing what I thought was right, but the officer didn’t see my side of the story like I did. Apparently they don’t give out warnings in school zones.

It was really disheartening because I had thought I was doing what was right. However, my failure to see the sign created trouble I was unaware of.

How often do we do that very thing in our Christian lives? We walk along doing what we think is right when all along there are signs we are missing and things we aren’t doing.

We are a lot like Saul in the book of Acts. He was doing what he thought was right, and he was very zealous in his desire to do so. The only problem was that his “right” was God’s “wrong”. Saul had to be shown by Jesus himself that he had been missing the signs and that Christianity was the true way.

I know of some sincere Christian pastors who know the bible frontwards and backwards yet when they read Acts chapter 2, they skip over verse 38.

I know sincere Christian leaders who read 1 Timothy 2:8 yet they don’t raise their hands in prayer or praise.

Do we miss the signs? Do we ignore them? Sometimes I find things in the bible that make me feel uncomfortable, but I cannot choose to ignore those things. I must follow the word of God…if not, I’m following myself.

So what is it that you are overlooking in your faith? May you find those things you have overlooked or ignored, and may you find courage and strength through the Holy Spirit to obey the word of God in all circumstances.

If there is anything I can pray for you about, or of you have any questions or comments about this article or Christian life in general, send me a message at jddobbs@verizon.net or comment on my blog at mrjdobbs.wordpress.com

BlogBooster-The most productive way for mobile blogging. BlogBooster is a multi-service blog editor for iPhone, Android, WebOs and your desktop

About Johnathan Dobbs

I'm a Christian first. I'm a husband and father second. Then I am an avid outdoorsman (hiking, camping, climbing, canoeing, fishing, etc...). Right now, I have a passion for climbing and card tricks. I am the minister for the Aztec church of Christ in Aztec, NM. I look forward to meeting new people and hearing from all. View all posts by Johnathan Dobbs

Leave a Reply

