What goes in must come out…

Do you listen to music?  According to most studies, you do.  What kind of music do you listen to?  Jazz, Hip Hop, Pop, Oldies, Country, Rap, Classical?

We all listen to music, so that leads me to ask why you listen to the type of music you do?  Some people say, “I like the beat,” or “it calms me,” or even “it’s a soundtrack for my life.”  With the growth of the mp3 player industry and ipods there is almost no limit to the variety of music you can listen to so that your life can actually have its own soundtrack.

This reminds me of a verse in Philippians.  Chapter four and verse eight says this, “Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.”

I have heard people who say they don’t listen to the words of the music they hear, but I strongly disagree.  Your subconscious processes much more information than you are consciously aware of, therefore you may not remember the words, but they definitely affect you.

Now, I’m not one to be a stickler about the genre of music a person should listen to, but I wanted everyone to be aware of an alternative out there that may fill your musical desires while still providing words that are true, noble, right, pure, lovely, etc…  It’s a station based out of Houston called KSBJ.  It focuses on having family friendly content, but the music sounds much like what is on the other stations.  You will hear music in which the words are glorifying God.  They even have an alternative station on their HD channel called NGEN that suits the needs of most of those people out there that are into today’s top 20 type songs…including rap and hip hop.

We have a choice.  We can continue to fill our heads with songs about someone’s latest affair or violence or drinking/drugs, or we can fill our heads with song that give glory to God and spur us on to live a more Christ-centered life.  Personally, I don’t think it’s much of a choice if I’m to heed the words of Philippians 4:8.  The words DO affect you.

Give it a try.  You can find them on the web at http://www.ksbj.org, or, in Matagorda county, you can hear them on your radio at 89.5 FM.  You can even hear their alternative station online at http://www.ngenradio.com.

Let me know what you think.  And as always, if there’s anything I can do for you, drop me a line at jddobbs@verizon.net or call me at the church office at 245-1611.  God bless you, and may you be filled with everything that is true, noble, right, pure, lovely, admirable, excellent, and praiseworthy.

About Johnathan Dobbs

I'm a Christian first. I'm a husband and father second. Then I am an avid outdoorsman (hiking, camping, climbing, canoeing, fishing, etc...). Right now, I have a passion for climbing and card tricks. I am the minister for the Aztec church of Christ in Aztec, NM. I look forward to meeting new people and hearing from all. View all posts by Johnathan Dobbs

Leave a Reply

