Didn’t Think About That

Last week the teenagers in my youth group were itching to do something on Saturday, so I asked them to come up with the idea, and I would help make sure it got done. A couple of the girls came up immediately and said “we want to have a paint war!”
I’ve never done a paint war, but it sounded really messy and lots of fun, so I agreed and plans were set in motion. Basically, we wanted a fun, unique way to create some neat looking shirts…what we got was a whole lot more.
Saturday came, and I had four cans of paint: blue, green, red, and purple. I set them up so that they were four corners of a playing area creating the boundaries for that area. Everyone had a paint brush and a pair of swimming goggles (to keep the paint out of our eyes). When I said “go” it was a total free-for-all as teens and adults and even my two little children were splattering one another with paint.
During the laughter, they began to discover other ways to get people covered with paint. Some were painting others with their brush rather than the planned splatter. Others were even getting handfuls of paint and throwing or smearing them on others. Needless to say, our entire group went from neat and tidy to a filthy mess! You can check out the video of our fun adventure at YouTube.com/mrjdobbs
As we were finishing up the cans of paint, it suddenly donned on us, “how are we going to get home?” none of us had prepared for cleaning up the mess in order for us to get back in our vehicles.
It’s been almost a week since that exercise, and I still have paint on me…in many places.
As I reflect on this adventure, there are many things I would do differently, and t was so much fun that we WILL do it again. However, I think this paint war was a lot like life.
Sometimes we jump into a sin because it just looks like a blast. All we can see is the “fun” we will have. But it’s not until we are deep in that we realize we haven’t made preparations to go “home”. By home I mean to be with God. Then, no matter how hard we try, we cannot get rid of the sin. In fact, it’s often painful to try to remove sins from our life.
After much struggling with sin, we finally resign to the idea that we are stuck with it’s consequences, and we’ll never get rid of it.
Only through Jesus can your sins be taken care of. In fact, He can TOTALLY clean you inside and out. It’s very simple. When the people were first preached to in Acts 2 about their sins and Jesus, it says “They were cut to the heart” and wanted to fix it. Peter told them something that still holds true for us today. “Repent and be baptized, every one of you, in the name of Jesus Christ for the forgiveness of your sins. And you will receive the gift of the Holy Spirit.”
There it is. Salvation can’t come through you…it can only come through Jesus Christ.
May you see the severity of the sin in your life, and may you come to Jesus for the ultimate cleansing. Only then will you find true joy. If you’d like some help finding out more about Jesus and His cleansing, then call me at the church office at 245-1611 or email me at jddobbs@verizon.net. Have a great week! And stay warm inside and out!

About Johnathan Dobbs

I'm a Christian first. I'm a husband and father second. Then I am an avid outdoorsman (hiking, camping, climbing, canoeing, fishing, etc...). Right now, I have a passion for climbing and card tricks. I am the minister for the Aztec church of Christ in Aztec, NM. I look forward to meeting new people and hearing from all. View all posts by Johnathan Dobbs

Leave a Reply

