Not Quite Camelot…but Better!

When you were a kid, did you ever dream about being a member of the royal court in medieval times? A king, queen, knight, prince or princess?  My daughter is two, and she loves the fact that she is a princess.  She dresses up in fancy clothes and curtsies for me as she says with glee, “Look daddy, I’m a princess!”  My heart swells, and I can’t help but scoop her up and smile as I say, “Yes you are!!! You’re my princess!”  Then I put her down, and she dances away smiling as she goes.

Did you ever pretend like that?  It’s not unhealthy.  In fact, children whose imagination is encouraged and not squelched are often the ones who grow up to invent new things or create some magnificent art that the whole world appreciates.  I hope that for my children…and even for you.

Back to being royalty, though.  Did you know that you CAN be royalty?  I don’t mean like George Bush or Rudolph Giuliani or Steven Spielberg (who, by the way, have all been knighted by the Queen of England).  I mean a kind of royalty that supersedes any kingdom that earth can produce.

In Romans 8, the apostle Paul says that we are “co-heirs with Christ” if we are part of the family of God.  It’s pretty easy to be in the family too – Acts 2:38 sums it up pretty well.  God wants us all to be in His family, but some of us still reject that calling.

Again, I digress, heirs?  Heirs of what?  What do we stand to inherit if we are in the family of God?  God is the King of all kings, and the Lord of all lords.  As His children, we stand to inherit EVERYTHING!  But especially the kingdom of Heaven.  When you get to heaven, you will not be a mere inhabitant there.  You will be royalty there – in charge of the place.  It’s an amazing thought!

So you can be a prince or princess, but for some that sounds a bit too dainty to be appealing.  You are NOT called to be a weak prince or princess.  2 Timothy 1:7 says we are given a Spirit of power!  Ephesians 6 lists the armor we are to wear in the war that rages on around us every day.  Not a war of flesh and blood.  No, this is much worse and more dangerous.  It is a war of the mind and heart.  It is the supernatural war waged by men and angels for the souls of mankind.  This is no light task, and life is not dainty.  Being a prince or princess for God means you must be a warrior as well.

You are definitely called to be a warrior prince or princess.  You are granted the inheritance of the Kingdom of God!  Will you take hold of that promise and live in such a way that Satan becomes the loser in your life and the lives of those around you?  My daughter is a princess at heart, and my son is a prince.  One day that dream will hopefully become a reality as they allow God to be Lord and King in their life.  Then, the battle will rage, and they will rise and proclaim to Satan, “You cannot have me, for my Father is the King, and you have no power here!”

You have the opportunity to proclaim that now in your life.  Don’t listen to Satan’s lies that want to weaken you and dull your senses.  Stay sharp.  The war rages on, and your Daddy is the King dear princes and princesses.

As always, if there is anything I can do for you or pray for you, please feel free to contact me at the church office at 245-1611 or at jddobbs@verizon.net.  God bless you all!

About Johnathan Dobbs

I'm a Christian first. I'm a husband and father second. Then I am an avid outdoorsman (hiking, camping, climbing, canoeing, fishing, etc...). Right now, I have a passion for climbing and card tricks. I am the minister for the Aztec church of Christ in Aztec, NM. I look forward to meeting new people and hearing from all. View all posts by Johnathan Dobbs

Leave a Reply

