There is No “Jesus” App

Cell phones. Don’t you just love them? I must admit that I am an iPhone junkie. I have had a smart phone for the last five years, and I love it.
Last fall I tried to go without my iPhone. I disconnected it purchased a go-phone cheap unit. It wouldn’t even take or receive pictures. Texting on it was horrendous, and the call quality left me asking people to repeat themselves repeatedly.
This smart phone-free time taught me a valuable lesson about myself. I heavily rely on their functionality. It’s so much that I have noticed that my life routine has even changed to count on the many functionalities of this marvel of technology.
I found myself nervous to take long trips because I had become reliant on the maps and cheap gas apps. I use the email functions constantly on my phone. In fact, the other day I had a one-hour long meeting during which I didn’t pick up the phone. After the meeting, I saw that I had received 20 emails in that hour.
So, as you can see, I am not looking forward to getting rid of a smart phone any time soon.
As I think about how much I rely on my cell phone, I wonder about my reliance on the One who created me. Do I rely on God as much as I rely on myself…or even my cell phone?
Those who taught me growing up were very modern thinkers, and I am thankful for that. They taught me the scientific method, and they even showed me how to apply that to proving the feasibility of Deism, rather than Atheism. But, they also showed me how to be self-reliant in all matters – even my faith.
I grew up in a religion that taught that we can achieve a more righteous life by mere practice. I was taught how to feel ashamed of my actions because a good Christian would live an obedient life.
Now, both of those things are true to an extent, but when the emphasis of our religion becomes more about what we can do to serve our God than about God Himself, then we because mere self-worshippers to some extent. By the way, I’m thankful that I now worship with a much more holistic group of Christians!
When I look at Jesus, I see the example like this: “By myself I can do nothing; I judge only as I hear, and my judgment is just, for I seek not to please myself but him who sent me.” This is Jesus talking. He was the one who “often withdrew to lonely places and prayed,” according to Luke.
Jesus understood that true life on earth is built on a complete abandonment of self, and a total reliance on God.
So, the next time you look at your cell phone, remember how you were meant to live. Not in dutiful drudgery but in replenishing reliance on the Father who “gives life and breath and everything else.” God can do so much more than my smart phone. In fact, the Scriptures say that “the foolishness of God is wiser than man’s wisdom.”
So let’s trust in that wisdom, and may we allow Him to lead us as we become totally dependent on His presence in our lives. We will still be obedient, but it’ll be much more fun because it will be more about the relationship than about the regulations. If there’s anything I can do for you or pray with you about please feel free to contact me at the office at 245-1611 or at jddobbs@verizon.net. God bless you all!

About Johnathan Dobbs

I'm a Christian first. I'm a husband and father second. Then I am an avid outdoorsman (hiking, camping, climbing, canoeing, fishing, etc...). Right now, I have a passion for climbing and card tricks. I am the minister for the Aztec church of Christ in Aztec, NM. I look forward to meeting new people and hearing from all. View all posts by Johnathan Dobbs

Leave a Reply

