Your Message is NOT an Illusion

I like magic.  Every since I was i child, I have enjoyed watching magicians do their work wowing audiences with their
sleight of hand and unexpected twists.  It has always been fun to see people do the impossible.

Because of that fascination, I have recently begun doing card tricks.  It’s not as fancy as sawing someone in two or making someone disappear, but I still have a blast seeing someone’s eyes light up as I do for them what they think is improbable at best.

I got into card tricks because I wanted a new way to maintain control over the classes I substitute for.  Sometimes it’s difficult for a sub to have the children behave, so I was looking for an “ace in the hole” so to speak.  By the way, it works like a charm.  Every time I start to perform a card trick, the students immediately focus and quiet down and listen intently.

Since getting into card tricks, however, I have been excited to discover new ways to share the message of Jesus with others.  As I learned these tricks, I discovered that for one in particular, I could change the story just a bit and make it about Jesus.  The illusion still works, but I get to share the gospel message at the same time.  This makes me excited!

I love sharing the message of Jesus with others.  So, to find a new way to start up a conversation about Him is great!

What do you use to tell others about Jesus, or do you even tell others about Him?  Many people are afraid to speak to their friends or family about Jesus, but what they don’t realize is that it just requires a person to look at his or her own talents and stories – not a plethora of biblical memorization.

In Matthew, Jesus told His disciples to make disciples of others.  He didn’t tell them to invite them in and wait for them to show up.  He commanded them to “go”.  Going here means wherever you go – as you go.

You don’t necessarily have to create some grandiose way for sharing with others the good news of Jesus.  All it takes is looking for every opportunity to bring Him up.  As you look at your past, you should be able to see how God has worked in your life since giving that life to Jesus.  Use those stories and messages to tell others about Him.

Some people want to explain away the passage in Matthew telling the disciples to “go”.  They say it was only written for the apostles, and not for us.  I disagree.  Jesus commanded them to go, make disciples, baptize them, and then teach them to do what Jesus commanded the apostles to do.  So this is a cyclical command.  In order to fulfill it, the next generation must raise up the next generation perpetually.

Who have you shared with lately about Jesus?  If you haven’t shared, then it’s time to start, and I’d love to help you discover your best ways to share with others the greatest message of eternity.  I’ll even show you my card tricks.

If there is anything I can do for you, please let me know by calling the church office at 245-1611 or via email at jddobbs@verizon.net.  God bless you, and may you tell others the news that will heal their diseases of sin and death.

About Johnathan Dobbs

I'm a Christian first. I'm a husband and father second. Then I am an avid outdoorsman (hiking, camping, climbing, canoeing, fishing, etc...). Right now, I have a passion for climbing and card tricks. I am the minister for the Aztec church of Christ in Aztec, NM. I look forward to meeting new people and hearing from all. View all posts by Johnathan Dobbs

Leave a Reply

