Confidence is Key

When I think of confidence, I think of “Charlie and the Chocolate Factory”.  Not the version with Gene Wilder, but the one with Johnny Depp.  I can’t help but remember the girl, Violet, who was going to win the competition.  Willy Wonka tells her that she sure shows signs of confidence, and “confidence is key”.  For some reason that clip is forever engrained in my memory.

How confident are you?  Do you make decisions well?  Do you have a high self-image? How do you perceive that you are viewed by others?  Are the answers to these questions positive ones or negative ones?

If you Google “confidence” you will find a host of sites with definitions, and probably even more with self-help tips on how to gain confidence.

As a Christian, are we supposed to be confident?  Yes. I firmly believe we are to be confident.  The question, then, is what kind of confidence should we have?  Have you ever even thought of there being more than one kind of confidence? From what I can tell, you can have confidence in your self, confidence in others, or confidence in God.  Here’s what God had to say about that:

“Cursed is the one who trusts in man,
who draws strength from mere flesh
and whose heart turns away from the LORD.
That person will be like a bush in the wastelands;
they will not see prosperity when it comes.
They will dwell in the parched places of the desert,
in a salt land where no one lives.

“But blessed is the one who trusts in the LORD,
whose confidence is in him.
They will be like a tree planted by the water
that sends out its roots by the stream.
It does not fear when heat comes;
its leaves are always green.
It has no worries in a year of drought
and never fails to bear fruit.”
(Jeremiah 17:5-8)

I’m a pretty confident guy, but this put some perspective on my confidence.  If I am confident in myself, then I have misplaced my trust.  My confidence should be in the One who is the Creator…not in any of His creations.

Does that mean I can’t trust myself or someone else? No.  But it does give perspective on how I trust them.  I trust you insofar as I trust the Creator.

What I find is that when I put my trust in me, I fail often.  Then, I get really upset, and I only have myself to blame.  The worst thing is that I knew I shouldn’t have been self consumed the whole time.

When I put my confidence in God, I have certain assurances:

First, the writer of Hebrews says that it is “impossible for God to lie.”  So if God says it, then that must mean it is true.  In fact, it is so much so that if God called a bird a cow, then by the mere fact that God said it, the bird would have no choice but to be a cow.  It would cease to be a bird.  Remember, he is the God who said “let there be light,” and there was light.

That gives some weighty meaning to the passage quoted above.  God makes a promise on what it is like to trust in self and what is the benefit of trusting in God.  Can I rely on that?  YES!

Second, God makes another promise that I love, and He says it in a couple different ways.  Romans 8:28 says, “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”  Romans 10:11 says, “Anyone who trusts in [God] will never be put to shame.”  God has promised to work through your trust.  You can rely on Him, and He will never let you down.

That’s where I want my confidence.  In God.  I’ve failed too many times to know better about myself.  Does that mean I won’t trust in myself anymore and neglect God?  Probably not – old habits die hard, but I try harder every day.

May you put your confidence in the Lord, and may you see the fruits of that newfound trust.

If you have any questions or comments regarding this or any of my articles, please feel free to call me at 245-1611 or email me at jddobbs@verizon.net.  God bless you, and may your hope be found in Him.

About Johnathan Dobbs

I'm a Christian first. I'm a husband and father second. Then I am an avid outdoorsman (hiking, camping, climbing, canoeing, fishing, etc...). Right now, I have a passion for climbing and card tricks. I am the minister for the Aztec church of Christ in Aztec, NM. I look forward to meeting new people and hearing from all. View all posts by Johnathan Dobbs

Leave a Reply

