My name is Johnathan and I resist change

I really like the movie, “The Matrix.” It’s my all time favorite. You have to overlook the profanity, but when you do, religious undercurrents run throughout.

Take, for example, the matrix being sin and the real world being the eternal life we were intended for. Then, this John the Baptist character comes along (Morpheus) looking for a savior (Neo) who has to die and live again to save people from sin’s (the Matrix’s) false reality.

I don’t care as much for the second and third movies, but there is a scene therein where Trinity and Morpheus go to see the Marovongian to ask him for something. When denied, Trinity is distraught. “Well, that didn’t go so well.” Morpheus, however, has a much calmer view of reality. “It went exactly as it could. It couldn’t have happened any other way.” Now, these are not direct quotes. I’m reciting from memory, but the message is the same.

I resist the unexpected when it is thrust upon me.

Just the other day, I had made some large plans for the youth group only to fond out that I had no choice but to change those plans less than one week from the event. My initial reaction is to simmer and steep until the frustration rises to a boiling point in me. It’s my natural reaction, and I often wonder why I get so uptight about things like this. I was able to change course mid-stream with the simplicity of a phone call. I knew I probably would, so why did I get so uptight?

Do you resist change like this? Does it tie you in knots when you know change is coming and you have no choice? Unfortunately, change is a bit of a paradox…the only constant in this world is change.

I actually love many types of change, but when it is thrust upon me rather than initiated by my will and choice, I tense up.

Why do we resist change? We are beings of change, so can’t we find somewhere to look to when the world around us isn’t constant?
In Numbers 23:19 a prophet describes God in this way, “God is not human, that he should lie, not a human being, that he should change his mind. Does he speak and then not act? Does he promise and not fulfill?”
As I encounter unexpected change in my life, it is comforting to know that God doesn’t change. He’s not like us. He is the constant in the storm.
Like Morpheus, I’m learning to remain calm and trust that God doesn’t change. I’m also learning that He “works all things out for the good of those who love Him.” (Romans 8:28)

So I can remain calm. I can know that it happened exactly as it should.

May you rest assured that God is on your side. May you have comfort in Him as the world changes so constantly around. And may you know that God is working everything – even the things that seem “bad” to us – for our good.

If you have anything you would like to add to the message of this article, feel free to comment on it at www. mrdobbs.org.  As always, if there is anything I can do or pray for you, call me at 245-1611 or email me at jddobbs@verizon.net.  God bless you all!

About Johnathan Dobbs

I'm a Christian first. I'm a husband and father second. Then I am an avid outdoorsman (hiking, camping, climbing, canoeing, fishing, etc...). Right now, I have a passion for climbing and card tricks. I am the minister for the Aztec church of Christ in Aztec, NM. I look forward to meeting new people and hearing from all. View all posts by Johnathan Dobbs

Leave a Reply

