Give Me Liberty or…Nah, Just Give Me Rest

20110720-091808.jpg

I’m exhausted. Have you ever felt that way?

This week the teens at Nichols St. church of Christ have been doing service work during the days and then having devotionals in the evening. It’s been great work: we have been building decks and ramps and doing yard work and helping out at the Harvest House. The teens are doing a great job, but I’m tired. The funny thing is that I’m tires and we haven’t even had the lock-in yet, and next week we’re going to Fiesta Texas…I better get some rest!

It wouldn’t be so bad if I could get a nap, but when my own kids are napping, I seem to find other things that need to be done too. If I keep going at this pace, I’m just going to fall over…at least that’s how it feels.

Have you ever felt that way? Maybe you feel that way right now. Your wheels have been spinning, and your body has been moving, and your mind has been racing to the point that you’re exhausted.

If that is where you are, take a look at Hebrews chapter 4.

The writer of Hebrews is talking about the contrast between Christians and the Israelites who wandered in the wilderness for 40 years. The bible describes heaven here as “God’s rest”.

The picture is that of the creation. Six days were spent creating everything we see, but on the seventh day it says that “God rested.” what kind of rest was this? I don’t really know. What I do know is that He promises us the same kind of rest.

Now, we know that everything promised to us from God is good – no, it’s more than good. So when it comes to God’s rest, I can’t help but think of the most restful, relaxing time I’ve ever had. I think it will be that and more.

That sounds good, doesn’t it? I know some of you are even more exhausted than I am, and you could really use some rest.

According to this chapter, that rest is a promise from God to those who are giving their lives to Him each day. It’s not for the fakers, and it’s not for the lazy Christians. If we’ve spent our Christianity resting here on earth, then why would we need rest in heaven? This is a promise for all of us who have dedicated our lives to serving Christ with all our heart.

If you’ve been tired and desire that kind of rest, then you CAN receive it. You can respond the same way the multitudes responded in Acts 2. They entered into the rest of God, and you can too.

If you’d like to know more about how to enter that rest, please contact me at jddobbs@Verizon.net or at 245-1611. If you’d like to comment on this article, you can do so at http://www.mrdobbs.org.

God bless you, and I hope you get some sleep this week, but my greater hope is that you receive His rest.

About Johnathan Dobbs

I'm a Christian first. I'm a husband and father second. Then I am an avid outdoorsman (hiking, camping, climbing, canoeing, fishing, etc...). Right now, I have a passion for climbing and card tricks. I am the minister for the Aztec church of Christ in Aztec, NM. I look forward to meeting new people and hearing from all. View all posts by Johnathan Dobbs

Leave a Reply

