Redfish and iPads and God, Oh My!

20110830-124955.jpg

As I’ve stated before in recent articles, I love to fish. There is something primal that comes out in me as I try to lure some big lunker to take the bait. Recently the attraction to fishing has been fueled by some really good results in the ice box. Now, however, I am consumed with fishing. I think about it during the day and dream of it at night. My current goal is to land a large shark or other fish – over four feet is the goal.

I also love technology. The funny thing is that when I’m not out fishing, I’m usually on the iPhone or iPad checking on fishing conditions or planning my next trip. I also use technology to keep up with people from church and friends around the world as well as staying up to date on the news. I don’t have television service, so I catch everything through my computers.

Again, throughout the day my thoughts are continually on fishing or technology.

Maybe you relate. Maybe you too love fishing or technology. Maybe your phone is the greatest invention in the world. Maybe you have other things that you are consumed with: shopping, hunting, Facebook, friends, work, school, sports, etc…

As we consider what we are consumed with, let’s compare that to the amount of time we are consumed with God. Do you think of God and His workings in your life as much as the other things that consume you?

Here is what God said on the tablets of stone Moses held on Mount Sinai: “You shall have no other gods before me. You shall not make for yourself an idol in the form of anything in heaven above or on the earth beneath or in the waters below. You shall not bow down to them or worship them; for I, the LORD your God, am a jealous God.” (Exodus 20:3-5)

I just have to point out that He said, “in the waters below”.

If there is something that I am more invested into than God then that is an idol. I can turn fishing or technology into idols if I put them as higher priority in life than my relationship with God. The same can be said for sports or careers or school or friends or even family. God wants to be first. And He gets jealous when He’s not first.

As I fish and think of fishing and am on the computer, I am continually aware of God. News articles bring about prayers that need to be prayed. I am in continual awareness of the Creator who allows me to enjoy His creation through fishing. By the way, when I was reeling in the last big fish I caught, I was praying the whole time for success and praise to God.

Maybe you do the same thing throughout your life. This is just a reminder where our focus should be. Not on the things of this world – they are temporary – but on the things of God – they are eternal.

Your placement of God in your priority list can also have implications on your eternal status.

So choose wisely, and join with me in worshipping God in everything, and seeking Him in all you do! As we change our perspective our lives change as well, and so do the lives of those around us as we influence them with our contagious Christianity.

God bless you this week, and may you see His moving in all things and be aware of Him always. May you put your relationship with Him as first priority in your life. And may the world be changed because God changed you.

I there is anything I can do for you, please feel free to contact me at 245-1611 or at jddobbs@Verizon.net. Have a blessed day!

About Johnathan Dobbs

I'm a Christian first. I'm a husband and father second. Then I am an avid outdoorsman (hiking, camping, climbing, canoeing, fishing, etc...). Right now, I have a passion for climbing and card tricks. I am the minister for the Aztec church of Christ in Aztec, NM. I look forward to meeting new people and hearing from all. View all posts by Johnathan Dobbs

Leave a Reply

