Hearts Breaking and Lives Aching

“Let my heart be broken with the things that break the heart of God.”

Do you know people that see the world in a certain kind of light? There are some people who see the world through greed much like Ebenezer Scrooge. Some people see the world through anger and bitterness, maybe due to the loss of a child or abuse from a loved one.

Some people see the world through their ego: everything is about them, and our job is to place them in the spotlight. They are the center of the universe, and they can’t understand why you don’t think so too.

Some people see through rose colored glasses: everything is lovely, and there is no bad in their lives. This is usually associated with an infatuation for another person. That person can do no wrong, and the world does revolve around them.

Some people see the world through the eyes of religion, and in this case others are either “in” or “out” in terms of salvation. Theirs is a world of judgmentalism. Their religion is the result of their beliefs about a particular thing. If you agree with them you are “in”. But if you don’t… By the way, this doesn’t just have to be religion in the name of Jesus. It could be any other philosophy in which beliefs are acted upon…including politics.

What lens did Jesus see the world through?

As I look at His life, I don’t see the imperfect lenses that I see in society today. Jesus struggled, but it was not because He didn’t live a perfect life. He struggled because of other people’s imperfect lenses that they saw Him through.

The lens of Jesus was much different, however. He didn’t see the world through judgment or greed or even infatuation – He saw the world through the lens of love.

When Jesus looked at others, what do you suspect He saw? I wonder if He wasn’t able to see the deepest hurt of each person. I wonder if it didn’t break His heart every time He saw a lost person or a person so consumed with self that they couldn’t see the truth in front of them.

I believe that though He was full of great joy, He was also full of deep sorrow at the state of humanity.

That brings me back to the quote at the beginning of this article by Bob Pierce: “Let my heart be broken with the things that break the heart of God.”

It is my prayer that I am able to see through the same lens that Jesus saw through. I want to be available to others in a real way so that their lives impact me.

I want to hurt for the single mom struggling to make ends meet and play two roles for her child when she can only successfully play one. I want to see the homeless person through the lens that passes on dignity to him or her when the rest of the world looks down upon them. I want to be repulsed by sin and resistant to religion for religion’s sake. And I want all these things to compel me to prayer and concern for my fellow man as I learn to love them the way Jesus does.

We are not called to be a world unto ourselves; we are called into community, but more than that, we are called to be lights in that community that people can come to in order to find help in the midst of the hurricane of life. By the way, that light that we shine is Jesus and the love and acceptance that He brings.

Many Christians want to accept grace. We even praise God for the grace He has given us! But Jesus seems to be showing us that we are to be more about giving that grace out to others. We accept the love of Christ so that we can turn around and share it.

So truly, “Let my heart be broken with the things that break the heart of God.” And may yours too.

If there is anything I can do for you or pray with you about, please let me know at 245-1611 or at jddobbs@Verizon.net.

God bless you as you learn to see through the eyes of Jesus.

About Johnathan Dobbs

I'm a Christian first. I'm a husband and father second. Then I am an avid outdoorsman (hiking, camping, climbing, canoeing, fishing, etc...). Right now, I have a passion for climbing and card tricks. I am the minister for the Aztec church of Christ in Aztec, NM. I look forward to meeting new people and hearing from all. View all posts by Johnathan Dobbs

2 responses to “Hearts Breaking and Lives Aching

Leave a Reply

