I’m Pretty Sure I’m Insane..But That’s OK

20110927-115452.jpg
I’m pretty sure I’m insane…but that’s ok. It’s not the first time I’ve felt this way about myself. There have been a few times in my life where I’ve made an assessment and determined that I was insane. At least I admit it.

The reason I am going on about insanity is that I have recently joined with my wife and several other people from the area in accepting the challenge of the Tough Mudder competition. It is a course set up over eleven miles with 25 obstacles designed by British special forces. If you check out the website, http://www.toughmudder.com, you’ll see why I think I may be insane. But, like I said, it’s ok; each one of us is insane in our own little way.

I am pretty excited about this challenge, however. It has been a long time since I have pushed myself to work out and eat things that benefit my body. My wife is wonderful at focusing on health and fitness, but not me. Give me a steak and some mashed potatoes and a Dr. Pepper and sit me in front of my computer and I’m a happy man. I’m 34 years old. I’m 5′ 7″ tall and 210 pounds. It goes without saying that I have much that I need to lose to get ready for this competition.

Because of the goal that I have set for myself, I have begun training. It’s kind of becoming an obsession with me. I work out at the gym. I do sit ups and push ups at home. I dream of working out at night (well, maybe not). I have even begun drinking protien shakes. All of this is making me feel better all over. My body feels better and my self esteem is growing. By the way, I never did like being overweight.

In order to reach my goal I have to train. For us as Christians, in order to achieve our goal we also need to train.

There are many cute catchy phrases to talk about how spiritual disciplines are like physically working out (aerobic kneeling is the first one that comes to mind). But this is a serious topic.

So many people think that once they accepted Jesus then that was all they needed. God’s purpose for you is for you to look like Christ. You cannot do that living on the junk food diet of the world. Chiristians all over are spiritually anorexic. Their biblical knowledge is only fed one or two hours a week at bible class. If you could only eat once or twice a week, you’d be starving too.

We want the power of God to work in our lives, but we don’t bother to talk to Him about it. By the way “Oh my God” doesn’t count as a prayer…it’s actually more like blasphemy. Prayer is essential to helping us look more like Jesus. He was super busy and the people wanted his attention continuously, but Luke says He “often withdrew to lonely places and prayed.” (Luke 5:16)

If I tried to do the Tough Mudder without physical and mental preparation, then I would fail miserably. If you try to live for Christ with no spiritual disciplines, then you will fail miserably as well. What are these spiritual disciplines? Some of the spiritual disciplines are praying, reading scripture, silence, solitude, works of service, worship, meditation and fasting. There are others; this is only a sampling.

When was the last time you deliberately fasted for something other than a medical procedure? Have you made a spiritual workout consisting or prayer and reading scripture part of your daily routine? In the rush of life, do you practice solitude and silence? Satan wants us to be weak, but Christ has given us tools to help us be strong.

Look at the life of Jesus. Make your habits those that Jesus had. May God transform your spiritual and physical like into the image of the perfect Son of God.

Please pray for me and the rest of our team as we train for the Tough Mudder. And may you be transformed as you enact your new spiritual workout regimen.

If there’s anything I can do for or pray with you about, please let me know at 245-1611 or at jddobbs@Verizon.net. God bless you.

About Johnathan Dobbs

I'm a Christian first. I'm a husband and father second. Then I am an avid outdoorsman (hiking, camping, climbing, canoeing, fishing, etc...). Right now, I have a passion for climbing and card tricks. I am the minister for the Aztec church of Christ in Aztec, NM. I look forward to meeting new people and hearing from all. View all posts by Johnathan Dobbs

Leave a Reply

