A Good Friend is a True Blessing

20120710-114254.jpg

I’m not a mechanic by any means. Cars intimidate me, and I have never had the opportunity to go to any kind of shop class where they discussed engines (my high school didn’t offer shop classes). But, I’m interested in learning, and I have a pretty good ability to use tools and fix things when I put my mind to it.

Back in May, my truck started making noises and running rough. Then it overheated and started putting steam out the exhaust pipe. This was a problem, and I didn’t know how to handle it. In my estimation the truck was probably done for. I called up a friend who works on cars as a hobby, and he gave me some directions on how to narrow down the problem.

After trying a few things and replacing a few parts it was decided that the head gaskets were probably bad due to the overheating. This meant taking the top half of the engine completely apart to replace gaskets that sit on top of the block.

If I’ve lost you already, just bear with me.

My mechanic friend said he thought I had the skills to do the job, so with his advice I started taking things apart. Last May I was able in two days to take the engine apart all the way down to the head gaskets. The top half of my engine was sitting on a table in my garage.

When I went to have some parts cleaned and resurfaced I found out that my heads were also cracked. This increased the cost significantly, but again, my friend was right there giving me pointers and helping me see how to do things best.

About two weeks ago I started putting parts back together. I hadn’t taken pictures along the way, so I was very concerned that I wouldn’t know how to put everything back together. I was especially wary of my knowledge in putting all the electrical connectors and hoses back in the right places. Yet again, my friend was there to point out different things and give me advice to make the job a success.

Last saturday he came over and helped me iron out the last few problems, and I cranked the engine back up for the first time in two months. It ran on the first crank.

I am super excited to have my truck running again. I did 95% of the work, but I wouldn’t have had the confidence to do the job without my friend to guide me along the way. I can’t thank him enough.

This is a lot like life.

We are called to live our lives in and for the glory of God. We are given tasks to do that are too difficult for us on our own, but God is always there helping us as we call on him.

God is to us daily as my friend was for me during my mechanic work. He isn’t doing all the work, but He is making sure we have the skills and tools available to get it done ourselves.

How much do you rely on God? Are you trying to “do life” without Him? So many of us only call on Him when we need Him, but you know what? He doesn’t seem to mind; He comes to our aid anyway.

In Hebrews 13:5 the writer records this promise from God, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” there is great comfort and confidence in knowing this promise. With God on our side helping us along we have confidence to try big things that are beyond our experience level.

God wants to do big things through you. God wants to help you along. Look to him.

Thanks for continuing to read these articles each week. If there’s anything I can do for you, feel free to contact me at jddobbs@verizon.net or at the church of Christ office at 245-1611. You can also join in or start a discussion about this or any of my other articles at http://www.mrdobbs.org. God bless you as you look to Him for strength!

About Johnathan Dobbs

I'm a Christian first. I'm a husband and father second. Then I am an avid outdoorsman (hiking, camping, climbing, canoeing, fishing, etc...). Right now, I have a passion for climbing and card tricks. I am the minister for the Aztec church of Christ in Aztec, NM. I look forward to meeting new people and hearing from all. View all posts by Johnathan Dobbs

Leave a Reply

