I Love Jesus Because… What about you?

20120828-114224.jpg

Do you love Jesus? Why do you love Him?

I love Jesus because He is Magnificent!

This week Hurricane Isaac is making landfall in South Louisiana. The force of the winds are nothing compared to His power and might. He makes mountains crumble and forms canyons at His will. He paints the sky with such an array of colors that it takes one’s breath away. He created the intricacies of nature such that we humans are daily discovering new things about His creation. He is Magnificent!

I love Jesus because He is Reliable!

Since I gave my life to Christ, there has never been a time when Jesus has not been near. I may feel like He is distant or that He may fail, but He never does, and it is usually me who has moved away. It is never Him who moves. Many times in my life there has been uncertainty, and time after time He provides exactly what I need. Does this mean times aren’t hard? No! Anyone who tells you that if you come to Jesus you will have an easier life is selling you snake oil. Jesus never promised you that. What He promises is that when the storms hit, He will be right there with you helping you along. If you want His help He is a prayer of faith away. He is Reliable!

I love Jesus because He is Gentle!

As I read the account of the trial and crucifixion recorded in Isaiah hundreds of years before it happened, I see how gentle Jesus was. He took all the accusations and abuse without saying a word. He could have called legions of angels to defend Him, but He chose not to because of his compassion and love for us. He has never shunned me, His child, because of my sin. He doesn’t kick me out at the first sign of insubordination. He gently reminds me through His word and the counsel of others of my need to come back in line with His example of humility and gentleness. He is Gentle!

I love Jesus because He is Liberating!

Many people think that being a Christian will lead to having more and more rules that you have to follow. This is not the case. In Christ there are only two rules: Love God (which is easy because He loved us first), and love everyone else as much as you love yourself (which is much harder because we are very selfish beings). I don’t have to have all my religious rules in place to follow those two rules. In fact, most of the religious rules that churches require their members to follow are merely traditions. Those traditions may help you follow those two rules, or they may not. Regardless, Jesus has not called you to tradition but to love. He wants you to do whatever you want to do. However, when you become His follower, hopefully you want to live in the example that Jesus set for you. He is not going to stand over you and force you to do good or condemn you the moment you do wrong. Jesus is no micro-manager. There is freedom in Christ. I am no longer a slave to sin. I am no longer a slave to unforgiveness or guilt or hatred. I am no longer a slave to anyone but Christ who calls me brother. He is liberating!

I love Jesus because He is Forgiving!

Jesus came to rescue the world from itself. He came to take away all the wrong you have ever done or ever will do. On the cross all the sins you have ever or will ever commit were placed on Him and nailed to the cross. They are there. We are the ones who want to continue to cling to those sins and continue to commit them. Jesus wants us to let them go so that He can truly forgive us. For we aren’t truly able to live in the forgiveness of Christ until we are able to forgive ourselves. He isn’t standing over us reminding us of all the wrong we have done. Jesus doesn’t shame us into submission. He loves us, and He shows us His love through His willingness to continually overlook our faults. Jesus is Forgiving!

I love Jesus. I hope you do too. Why do you love Jesus? I’d love to hear your story. You can comment on this article at http://www.mrdobbs.org or via email at jddobbs@verizon.net.

If you haven’t allowed Jesus to be all these things in your life, I’d love to begin walking with you as you seek that kind of health in you. I’d love to show you Jesus. Blessings to you, and may His love shine in us as we walk in His footsteps

About Johnathan Dobbs

I'm a Christian first. I'm a husband and father second. Then I am an avid outdoorsman (hiking, camping, climbing, canoeing, fishing, etc...). Right now, I have a passion for climbing and card tricks. I am the minister for the Aztec church of Christ in Aztec, NM. I look forward to meeting new people and hearing from all. View all posts by Johnathan Dobbs

Leave a Reply

