Football and the Election

20121002-092037.jpg

I admit it. I’m guilty. I’ve been caught up in this trap before, so please know that I have already spoken this word to myself before I chose to write this article.

How do you feel about the government? How do you feel about the current administration either in the local, state or federal government? Think about your response to this for a bit.

I’m on Facebook constantly, and right now about 75% of the posts that scroll across my page are either about football or about the upcoming election. The lion’s share of my over one thousand friends are passionate Christians concerned about the future of America. They don’t agree with what is being done, and they want to help people see the changes they think are needed to be made for this nation to become more healthy.

Having an opinion about something is good. In fact, it is right to have an opinion about what you think is right. Without that ability how would we be able to know to do right? I think our ability to discern what is right and good is a God-given ability.

There are many people who are giving their opinion, but these opinions are getting more and more disrespectful. People are stooping to name-calling. They are condemning people who aren’t in opposition to the same people they are in opposition to. This is going a bit far.

As Christians we are called to a higher standard. It is so easy for us to get caught up in the flow of ideas perpetuated by worldly thinking. Yet, consider what Peter has to say in 1 Peter 2:

Submit yourselves for the Lord’s sake to every authority instituted among men: whether to the king, as the supreme authority, or to governors, who are sent by him to punish those who do wrong and to commend those who do right. For it is God’s will that by doing good you should silence the ignorant talk of foolish men. Live as free men, but do not use your freedom as a cover‑up for evil; live as servants of God.
Show proper respect to everyone: Love the brotherhood of believers, fear God, honor the king. (1 Peter 2:13-17 NIV84)

When Jesus was on the earth he did not agree with the governing or religious authorities. That is why he was killed. He wasn’t crucified because he healed the sick or raised the dead or was a “good guy”. He was crucified because he spoke of a kingdom that was in direct opposition to the governing religious authority of the day. Yet, he did not tell the people to rebel against that kingdom. He encouraged the people to pay their taxes. He encouraged them to go even beyond the letter of the law of the land.

When he was on trial, Jesus was very respectful to the people who were unjustly accusing him. He had ample opportunity to put the authorities “in their place”, yet he chose respect.

Our culture today has lost the art of respecting one another. When you go to Wal-mart it is a breath of fresh air, not the norm, when someone treats you kindly and with respect. Yet we are called to live in this respect every day.

I don’t agree with everything the government is doing. I cannot support abortion. I don’t like how the economy is affecting my ability to provide for my family. But I know that whoever is there has been granted that authority by God, Himself. Therefore, while I don’t agree with the policies, I must trust that God has a purpose for me and my country in this.

Does that mean that God is planning to make our country great by putting a particular person in leadership? No. It may mean that we need to be humbled as a nation. It may be that I need to learn to trust God more, and I can only learn that in times where I am required to trust in Him.

You have a great responsibility to vote. Please vote. But also respect those who are in those places of authority whether you voted them in there or not.

This is the higher calling. This is the brighter example in this dark world.

May you be that bright example to those around you. May you consider how you present yourself to those around you. If people know you are a Christ-follower, then they will only understand what it meant to be thus by how you act. Please act according to Christ’s example.

If you’d like to discuss this, then I invite you to do so on my blog at http://www.mrdobbs,org. Blessings to you as you prepare to vote in the upcoming elections.

About Johnathan Dobbs

I'm a Christian first. I'm a husband and father second. Then I am an avid outdoorsman (hiking, camping, climbing, canoeing, fishing, etc...). Right now, I have a passion for climbing and card tricks. I am the minister for the Aztec church of Christ in Aztec, NM. I look forward to meeting new people and hearing from all. View all posts by Johnathan Dobbs

Leave a Reply

