Peaceful Easy Feeling

20130121-112016.jpg

The days ahead are uncertain. Our world is changing. Our climate is changing. Our country is changing. Or children are changing. There is much to be unsure about.

Does it make you nervous? Are you worried about your ability to provide for yourself or your family? Are you the least bit nervous about what your children will have to deal with as they grow into the new world being created by the leaders of today?

I deal with thoughts of this continually. I have been charged by God to provide for my family, but as each year goes by it becomes harder and more uncertain. Frustrations rise and worry clouds judgment as we focus on what might happen in the future.

When I get caught up in that place, however, I have to remember a couple of things:
First, the future hasn’t happened yet. I can only control a certain amount of what may or may not happen in the future, but the vast majority of the future is beyond my control. This may seem disconcerting to some, but it can be a relief when you understand your role in this. You are not meant to change the future. You are meant to change today. All you need be concerned with is how you live today. Allow the concerns about tomorrow to cease and you’ll be free to live today to its fullest.

Second, in times of uncertainty, there is a God who does not change. Jehovah is not wishy-washy. His promises are not “pie crust promises”. His promises endure through the ages. He promises to take care of us today (Matthew 6:33). He promises that he has a great plan for our future (Jeremiah 29:11). And He promises that when things don’t work out the way we had hoped or expected He is still working all things out for our good (Romans 8:28).

He is the God who brings comfort to the troubled. He wants to bring you peace in uncertainty.

When you focus on Him and live for today you find that you don’t have much time for worrying about tomorrow. Sure, I will still prepare my children for whatever life they will have to endure, but in the meantime I will enjoy them and love them. I will trust that those promises I rely on are also relevant for them.

May you find peace this year. May you be able to overcome the uncertainty in your life by trusting in the One who does not change. He is a rock, a foundation that cannot be shaken. Your trust is secure there.

If you’d like to know more about having a closer relationship with Jesus I’d love to visit with you. I am now the minister at the Aztec church of Christ in Aztec, NM. You can reach me in the office at 334-6626 or via email at jddobbs@verizon.net. You can also comment on this or any other of my articles at http://www.mrdobbs.org.

God bless you as you find your peace in Him.

About Johnathan Dobbs

I'm a Christian first. I'm a husband and father second. Then I am an avid outdoorsman (hiking, camping, climbing, canoeing, fishing, etc...). Right now, I have a passion for climbing and card tricks. I am the minister for the Aztec church of Christ in Aztec, NM. I look forward to meeting new people and hearing from all. View all posts by Johnathan Dobbs

Leave a Reply

