On My Own Schedule

20130508-095815.jpg

I bought a new game for my iPad. I know, I’m a grown man and shouldn’t be playing video games, but I am a big fan of the Lego games. So, when I saw that Lego Batman 2 was on the iPad I purchased it as a bit of escapism therapy.

Now, I play video games every once in a while, but my son wants to play them every day, and ever since I got the game he’s wanted to play it. After I played through the first time I decided it was time to let him begin his journey through the game. I let him play for a little while for the first couple of days, but the other day the first thing he asked for when he woke up was to play this game.

We had a lot to get done that day and much running around to do, so I told him he’d get to play, but not right now. Well, that answer wasn’t good enough for him. He kept asking me every five minutes if he could play the game. Throughout the day he talked about the game and reminded me of the fact that I had told him he’d get to play that day.

It got really annoying.

I reminded him that I wouldn’t forget. I gave him my word, but no matter my attempt to convince him that he could trust me he kept on nagging me about the game. Then it dawned on me; I do that with God.

We are called to be persistent and bold in our prayers (Luke 11), but we are also promised that whatever we ask for in Jesus’ name we will receive (John 14:13-14). Azariah wanted to play the game on his time and his terms. I knew that wouldn’t be best for him for several reasons, but he couldn’t comprehend that.

When I pray, do I trust that God will answer my prayers? I know many people that get frustrated with God because He didn’t answer their prayers on their time schedule and in their way. When we have those attitudes toward our Creator they reek of arrogance.

The bible says that God’s foolishness is wiser than man’s wisdom (1 Corinthians 1:25). If He is so much wiser than we are, then can we not trust Him to take care of us? Can we not trust Him to answer our prayers according to His promise?

Yes we can. Thanks be to God for His trustworthiness and the fulfillment of His promises. Thanks be to God for the answers to our prayers. May we learn to see those answers through His eyes that we may see the blessing in whatever way He deems as the right way to fulfill our requests. There is peace in that perspective.

About Johnathan Dobbs

I'm a Christian first. I'm a husband and father second. Then I am an avid outdoorsman (hiking, camping, climbing, canoeing, fishing, etc...). Right now, I have a passion for climbing and card tricks. I am the minister for the Aztec church of Christ in Aztec, NM. I look forward to meeting new people and hearing from all. View all posts by Johnathan Dobbs

2 responses to “On My Own Schedule

  • Anthony Lino

    Loved the story of you and your son. Loved the practical application of and relation to Biblical teachings and concepts. Very good thoughts. I appreciate them.

    Make me long for days where we could sit in class or at lunch and sunset and discuss because I found one of your assertions bothersome. I wish we could sit and chat about your statement, “I’m a grown man and shouldn’t be playing video games.”

    People in this world, even Christians, even preachers, waste time (or spend their leisure) in various ways. I constantly wonder why we label one activity as not appropriate but another perfectly acceptable.

    Like

    • Johnathan Dobbs

      Haha. I get ya! I use that time to let my mind escape and rest. May not seem like rest to others, but it is for me. But I gotta admit I don’t play the big games because I’d spend even more time in front of a screen. That’d be neglecting my fam.

      So, the first statement was tongue in cheek.

      Like

Leave a Reply

