a-Moral Dilemma

20130925-143357.jpg

I have been a part of churches all my life. I have worshipped all over this country with various denominations and even experienced worship times with various faiths. In the Christian realms, however, there is a trend that isn’t catching on…it’s running full steam ahead through our church cultures.

This trend is to claim belief in God but live any way we want to live. It is a claim of faith but coupled with a self-indulgent lifestyle devoid of church attendance.

As a minister I cannot sit idly by and not say anything about this disease. If this is what we expect Christianity to be then Satan has won! We cannot claim belief in God and ignore what His word says. If you believe that God doesn’t care about how you live, then you believe in a God that you created. It is NOT the God of the bible. It is a human-invented creation. It will NOT save you.

I continually have conversations with people who profess deep belief in God yet are not a part of His church in any way. I meet people who are “Christians” yet live with their significant others in a very NOT-marriage relationship. I know Christians all over who publicly, through Facebook and Twitter and other social network sites, profess to have no issue with and even support those living lifestyles that are blatantly against the moral standard that God has set in His word. God’s word, the bible, clearly speaks against each of these things.

Friends, if you are a Christian but don’t even attempt to conform to God’s expectations for your life, then you are not a Christian.

A Christian is a Christ-Follower. A Christian values the words of God and seeks to live them the way Jesus lived them. Christians aren’t proud drunkards. Christians aren’t openly living with their boyfriend or girlfriend. Christians don’t actively encourage others to continue in their ungodly lifestyles. Christians aren’t disconnected from the church.

Christians are sinners who are trying to sin less. Sin is something they want to be rid of, not brag about. Sin is a very real thing in the life of a sinner. Sin is the reason they need Jesus. Sin is the reason I need Jesus. I cannot be a Christian apart from the church any more than a finger can live severed from the rest of a body.

I am not perfect, and I am sure you aren’t either. I receive the forgiveness of God through the death and resurrection of Jesus as the Holy Spirit guides my life, but if I’m continuing to openly, unashamedly live a sinful lifestyle then I’m not following after the Holy Spirit. I’m following after my flesh, and that is easily influenced by the evil one. It’s even easier for the evil one to be in control when I’m not strengthened by the encouragement of my brothers and sisters in Christ.

If you’ve been living this kind of lifestyle then the good news is that Jesus offers new life today! Repent! Turn away from your sin and turn to God. Get involved in church. You won’t be perfect, but your heart turned toward Him is reflected by your actions. You’ll see change in your life, and others will too. And God honors that.

Jesus didn’t die so that we could continue to sin. He died so that He could show us the way out of this sin-led life, and He gave us his church to help us live the life He called us to through encouragement and fellowship. If you’d like to come back to Jesus in a real way, then I’d love to visit with you. You are invited and welcome to be a part of His family – it is not full of shame regarding the way you used to live – it is full of celebration that you left that life to live the life He intended for you to live all along.

About Johnathan Dobbs

I'm a Christian first. I'm a husband and father second. Then I am an avid outdoorsman (hiking, camping, climbing, canoeing, fishing, etc...). Right now, I have a passion for climbing and card tricks. I am the minister for the Aztec church of Christ in Aztec, NM. I look forward to meeting new people and hearing from all. View all posts by Johnathan Dobbs

2 responses to “a-Moral Dilemma

  • Michele Hoyt

    As always Jonathon, I enjoyed your Blog. And for the most part I agree with it. I agree too many people claim to be Christians but do not live as Christians. However, I do not believe it is necessary to regularly attend church to claim Christianity. I quit going to church regular after severe disappointment in the behavior of my fellow church goers who appeared to put more stock into how often you attend church, what you wear to church and how much money you put into the church than in how you acted and what you did for others without regard to personal gain. I worship God, read the Bible and I do share his word with others, though I do not push it onto others, When I feel the need to physically be in the house of God, I attend a service in the hope of finding a congregation that makes me feel comfortable and welcome, other times I choose to listen to a broadcast service. You say we should strive to live life as Jesus did. I do that and like Jesus I reserve judgment on others while trying to be kind to them and help them. I am a work in progress, but I attempt to be kind to everyone I meet and to do what I can for others including, but not limited to, praying for others health and difficulties, donations of time or goods as needed and encouraging the to turn to the Lord. I often put people before profits in my business, obviously I need to make profit to pay my bills, but it is not the DRIVING force for me. I believe that is why I do so well in my business, the putting people first aspect. Overall though I agree there are many who need to remember that God knows what is in their hearts and if they are living a dual life, they need to turn back to the Lord.

    Like

Leave a Reply

