The Phil Robertson Fiasco

20131221-201639.jpg

Duck Commander’s Phil Robertson was fired this week from A&E’s Duck Dynasty. If you haven’t heard this bit of news yet, then congratulations – that’s impressive. It’s everywhere: TV, radio, internet, newspaper. Seems like the whole world has gone crazy over this story.

As I scroll through my Facebook and Twitter feeds I can’t help but see the countless articles written about what is going on with Phil and A&E. I see people upset and even angry at his removal from the show. I see people upset with the people who are upset because of their inability to be level-headed about their reactions to a mere television show. I see people left and right talking about free speech and whether or not Phil was treated fairly in his exercise thereof. Then there are those who were in favor of the decision that A&E made. Those folks are much fewer in my news feeds outside of main stream media.

The whole world seems to be caught up in this. But should we be surprised? Of course not. Look at the timing. All of this comes out AFTER the Christmas special and not before. A bible-thumping redneck is interviewed by a profanity-laden yuppie. Homosexuality is a hot topic in our culture today, and most people know how Christians believe on this subject. So, I ask again, should we be surprised?

I, for one, am surprised, but not for the reason you think. I am surprised that it took this long. I’ve known Phil for a long time and he has always been outspoken and sometimes crass in his firm beliefs and sharing of those beliefs. When this show began, I was shocked that Phil, Jase and the crew would be on TV, and then I waited to see if just this sort of thing would happen. To Phil’s credit, it took a couple years before someone took him the way GLAAD and A&E did. That means he’s been pretty low-key until more recently.

Something seems out of place here. Oh, wait! Isn’t this Christmas time? I almost forgot in the distraction of a wealthy family’s trouble in Hollywood that this was the season of celebrating the birth of Christ! When I glance around I don’t see nearly so many people talking about this fact this year. Usually my social networking feeds are strewn with “Jesus is the reason for the season” and “Keep Christ in CHRISTmas” and the like. Now all I see are comments about the Robertsons or things I should buy or frustrations people are having.

It’s easy to be distracted by all the things in this world. It’s easy to miss out on the celebration of God Most High becoming a humble child in a manger because of the onslaught of commercials and sales and news items and even personal dilemmas.

This is a time to celebrate our Savior. I hope, for you and me, that we can be as distraction-free this holiday season as Phil was the night the news his the mainstream. Instead of being with the family stressing over what is to come, he was up at the church building praying over a woman recently diagnosed with cancer. Who cares about A&E?!

This Christmas, May you put aside all the distractions of life: the presents, food, family, cleaning, shopping, traveling, social media, and even the news, and may you focus on the the true meaning of the season. Jesus came to earth. He was born – flesh and blood – as any human. He lived a perfect life to become the perfect sacrifice. Then He took upon His perfection the imperfection of us all and nailed it to the cross as He bled and died for us. Then, three days later, He rose from the grave – freeing us from the power of sin and death. This is reason to celebrate. Not just this month, but every day throughout the year.

About Johnathan Dobbs

I'm a Christian first. I'm a husband and father second. Then I am an avid outdoorsman (hiking, camping, climbing, canoeing, fishing, etc...). Right now, I have a passion for climbing and card tricks. I am the minister for the Aztec church of Christ in Aztec, NM. I look forward to meeting new people and hearing from all. View all posts by Johnathan Dobbs

Leave a Reply

