Mom, I Didn’t Get You a Card on Purpose…

dobbs

Dear Mom,

I didn’t get you a card on purpose.  It’s hard to find you the right card that would be sent across the country for you to glimpse and take only a moment to read.  Those cards usually say wonderful things but only scratch the surface of what I want to say.

I want to tell you a little about yourself.  There is so much that I appreciate about the woman you are and have been.  I want to tell you that I remember that you always got up early and went to sleep late.  I want you to know that I noticed that you were a person that others relied on because of your trustworthiness and passion to do your best at everything you do.  I want you to know I was always touched that you lifted dad on a pedestal even though he was humble and quiet and you didn’t have to.  You helped make dad a giant in my eyes.

I want to thank you for being a safe person for my friends.  I want to thank you for continuing to be that safe person for many others.  I see how you have been and continue to be a mother to so many more than just me and Debra and Matt.

I want to thank you for your dedication to us kids.  You worked at our school so that we could afford to go there.  You got involved to make sure we had the best opportunities.  You attended everything we did, and you continue to attend all your grandchildren’s events.

I want to thank you for your discipline.  I didn’t like it at the time, but I always knew what was right and wrong.  I always knew that somewhere mom had eyes watching.  I knew that what I did would either honor or disappoint you and dad.  I have always known why you played devil’s advocate when I was upset about something.

I want to thank you for making sure that I knew your parents.  I miss them.  I can’t wait to see grandpa this month.  I am a better man because I was sent to their house during the summer.

I want to thank you for looking the other way when you were nervous about something I was doing that was dangerous.  You knew I needed the experience in order to grow – like when dad and I climbed the cliff above Little Missouri Falls.

I want to thank you for loving dad in a way that all of us could and still see it. I want to thank you for showing us an example of dedication in marriage.

I want you to know that I still remember that you got up super early in the morning to spend time with God before you ever woke us up from school.  I never had any doubt that you were in constant prayer for me. I need your prayers more than ever.

It is wonderful to see my mom as an example of a godly woman who influences more than just her three kids.  You have raised many others.  You continue to reach out and inspire those younger than you (and sometimes older). I think it is awesome that you’ve continued to be a heart mom.

Thank you for studying the scripture. Thank you for your courage to grow beyond whatever congregation you were in, and thank you for your example of grace and long suffering when we were in congregations that didn’t understand God’s love like you do.

There are so many other things I want to write, but I guess you’ll just have to settle for a hug when I get to see you in a couple weeks.

I love you, Mom.  I always will.  You remind me of your mom, and I still love her too.

I am proud to be your son.

Happy Mother’s Day, Mom!

Johnathan

p.s. I hope you didn’t read this before you had to sing at church.

About Johnathan Dobbs

I'm a Christian first. I'm a husband and father second. Then I am an avid outdoorsman (hiking, camping, climbing, canoeing, fishing, etc...). Right now, I have a passion for climbing and card tricks. I am the minister for the Aztec church of Christ in Aztec, NM. I look forward to meeting new people and hearing from all. View all posts by Johnathan Dobbs

Leave a Reply

